U14's Australian Girls Club Championships


About The U14's

The National Junior Championships form a vital pathway from participation through to elite competition for the nation’s junior athletes and also illustrate the strength of our country programs.

Under the current format for the Australian U14 Club Championships, the 24 teams are divided into six pools of four teams and play a round robin competition.
The top two teams in each pool then play for the Championship Division and the teams placed third & fourth in each pool compete for the Shield Division.

The winner of the Australian U14 Girls Club Championships, will be presented with the Michele Timms Championship Trophy.

The winner of the Shield Division of the Australia U14 Girls Club Championships will be presented with the Rachael Sporn Shield.

Michele Timms

Michelle TimmsTimms is one of Australia’s best-known basketballers and the premier female point-guard this country has ever seen and the trophy was named in her honour in 2004.

Her career with the Australian Opals spanned 14 years, across 264 games. Her finest international triumph came in her swansong at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney where she captained the Opals to their best-ever finish, a silver medal.

Timms broke new ground for Australian women basketballers by becoming the first to play internationally when she went to Germany to play with the Lotus Munchen team. While there, she was named the Women's International Player of the Year in 1994 and 1996.

Michele Timms was an extraordinary basketball player and whose success all young basketballers can strive to emulate.

Rachael Sporn

Rachel SpornRachael first represented Australia in the 1990 World Championship and competed in a total of three world Championships (1994 and 1998). Rachael was selected for her first Olympic Games in 1996, where she was a member of the first team to win an Olympic medal finishing with a bronze. She went on to win two silver medals in the 2000 and 2004 Olympic Games.

Rachael was an excellent defender as well as being a great scorer, and was one of the most consistent players in the WNBL and also for Australia. SHe captained Australia on many occasions and was co-captain of the silver medallist Olympic teams of 2000 and 2004.

Basketball Australia Fair Play Award

As part of Basketball Australia’s ongoing strategy to promote respect of the officials by players, coaching staff and supporters it was decided to introduce the Jenny Cheesman “Fair Play Award”.

Basketball Australia introduced an annual “Fair Play Award” to all Australian Junior Championships in 2003.

The purpose of the award is to recognise the club that conducts itself in a respectful manner over the course of the Championship. Whilst the criteria for such an award has a degree of subjectivity, the overall ethos of the award overrides any problems with measurement or lack of objectivity.

The award, over time, is designed to:

- Promote sportsmanship at a young age
- Encourage respect for the officials
- Foster positive support of team by parents and supporters
- Reward responsible coaching, and
- Generally emphasise the positive values of RESPECT, COMPETITIVE UNDERSTANDING and COOPERATION.

The games played during the Championships are evaluated on 6 different criteria:

- Technical Fouls
- Positive Play
- Respect toward the Opponent
- Respect towards the Officials
- Behaviour of Team Officials (Coaching Staff, Managers etc.)
- Behaviour of Team Supporters

Jenny Cheesman

Jenny CheesemanJenny Cheesman played 167 games for the Opals between 1975 and 1988. She was the captain of the team from 1980 until the end of her career and also went on to be the Opals assistant coach from 1993-2000. While she was still playing at the highest level with the Opals, Cheesman was an assistant coach with the AIS program, taking over the head coach role for one year in 1990.

An all-round sportswoman, Cheesman was also a good netball and softball player.

She has contributed so much to the game of basketball that it is only appropriate that this important award be named in her honour.

Return To Top


The U14 Girls Club Championships commenced in 1981 in Sydney when North Adelaide defeated Diamond Valley 46-45.

Previous Recipients of the Michele Timms Trophy

2002 - Dandenong (VIC)
2003 - Dandenong (VIC)
2004 - Nunawading (VIC)
2005 - Melbourne (VIC)
2006 - Willetton (WA)
2007 - Bulleen (VIC)
2008 - Bulleen (VIC)
2009 - Dandenong (VIC)
2010 - Melbourne (VIC)
2011 - Bulleen (VIC)
2012 - Melbourne (VIC)
2013 - Southern District Spartans

Previous Recipients of the Rachael Sporn Shield

2010 - Southern Districts Spartans (QLD)
2011 - Brisbane Capitals (QLD)
2012 - Dandenong Rangers (VIC)
2013 - Eastern Mavericks

Previous recipients of the Jenny Cheesman Fair Play Award:

2003 - Cockburn Cougars
2004 - Illawarra Hawks
2005 - Townsville Fire
2006 - Northern Tasmania
2007 - North West Tasmania Thunder
2008 - Alice Springs Suns
2009 - Northern Tasmania
2010 - Mandurah Magic
2011 - Eastern Mavericks
2012 - Canberra Capitals
2013 - Perry Lakes Hawks

2013 Girls Scores & Schedule
2012 Girls Scores & Schedule
2011 Girls Scores & Schedule
2010 Girls Scores & Schedule
2009 Girls Scores & Schedule
2008 Girls Scores & Schedule

Return To Top


Draw - 2014 U14 Girls Club Championships

U14 Girls Championship Bulletin One
U14 Girls Championship Bulletin Two

Return To Top

  • Basketball


    • Are you coming to the #homecoming?

      Loading ... Loading ...